The Australian Freediving Association and the Brisbane Bullsharks Freediving Club will host the AFA Pool National Championships in Brisbane from Fri, 15 Oct to Sun, 17 Oct, 2021 at the Sleeman Sports Complex. This competition is conducted under the AIDA International rules and is open to all AFA members regardless of their nationality. It is not a world record status competition.

As announced in 2019 the AFA will not follow the AIDA points system for this competition as we feel it is outdated, for example we want to make it fair to those choosing DYNB rather than DYN. We will email athletes with details of the points system in the coming weeks. Athletes will get the normal points recorded into the AIDA ranking system.

Date: Friday, 15 October to Sunday, 17 October (3 days)
Day 1 – Static Apnea (50m x 2m pool, water temp: 27C)
Day 2 – Dynamic No Fins (25m x 2m pool, water temp: 27C)
Day 3 – Dynamic With Fins (including DYNB) (50m x 2m pool, water temp: 27C)

Venue: Sleeman Sports Complex

Eligibility: All current financial members of AFA who are 18 years of age or older.

You must be a member of AFA to be able to compete in this competition. Please note that you must be a full financial member of the AFA if you are an Australian citizen (regardless of place of residence) or a current resident in Australia (regardless of nationality). If you are not an Australian citizen and do not live in Australia (e.g. visiting Australia for this competition), you can obtain a temporary Competition Membership on checkout.

Registration fee: There is an early-bird discount available – get in quick!

On or before Sunday, 29 August: A$145
Monday, 30 August – Sunday, 26 September: A$160
Monday, 27 September – Thursday, 14 October: A$190

Registration fee includes participation in the competition (3 days), registration of results with the AIDA ranking database, and a competition merchandise item (TBD). Accommodation, transport, and food and drinks at the after party are not included in the registration fee.

Cancellation policy: If the competition can’t go ahead due to COVID-19 or if an athlete can’t attend due to COVID-19 there will be a full refund of the entry fees.

If you decide to withdraw your registration, we will refund your registration fee according to the guidelines below.
50% – Cancellation on or before Sunday, 26 September
25% – Cancellation between Monday, 27 September and Sunday, 10 October
No refund – Cancellation after Monday, 11 October (If you decide not to compete on the day of the competition, there will be no refund.)


Registration is now open to current members of the AFA as at 11.59pm AEST Sunday 25 July 2021. Registration will open to everyone else on Sunday 8 August 2021.

Click here to register

Athlete in-list

Number Name Sex Nationality Club
1 Scott Walker M NZL Melbourne Freedivers
2 Jarrod Briffa M AUS Melbourne Freedivers
3 Frederic Maire M AUS Brisbane Freedivers & Brisbane Bullsharks
4 Jason Prior M AUS non club affiliated
5 Lucja Nowowiejski F POL non club affiliated
6 Amber Bourke F AUS Brisbane Freedivers & Brisbane Bullsharks
7 Leigh Woolley M AUS Brisbane Freedivers & Brisbane Bullsharks
8 Donovan de Wet M AUS Melbourne Freedivers
9 Christian Zuluaga Bedoya M COL Brisbane Freedivers & Brisbane Bullsharks
10 Ashley Smith M AUS Brisbane Freedivers & Brisbane Bullsharks
11 Michael Cheesman M AUS non club affiliated
12 Yuanhao Xu M CHN non club affiliated
13 Liam Allen M CAN Brisbane Freedivers & Brisbane Bullsharks


The old AIDA Medical Form can be downloaded here.All athletes must present a medical certificate stating “no contraindication to freediving” at the on-site registration on Day 1. The medical certificate must be signed and stamped by a medical doctor and must not be more than one year old. AIDA no longer has a standard medical form for use however you can use their old form if you wish. If you are using the AIDA Medical Form, it must be signed by a doctor and must have the doctor’s stamp.Medical form: Medical forms will be required to be emailed by end September, athletes will be emailed closer to the time.

Preliminary Time Schedule:

Day 1 (Fri, 15 Oct)
9:00am Registration open
10:00am Athletes briefing
12:00pm First OT – Static Apnea
5:00pm Last OT – Static Apnea
7:00pm Announcements for Day 2 close
Day 2 (Sat, 16 Oct)
10:00am First OT – Dynamic No Fin
4:00pm Last OT – Dynamic No Fin
7:00pm Announcements for Day 3 close
Day 3 (Sun, 17 Oct)
9:00am First OT – DYN & DYNB
3:00pm Last OT – DYN & DYNB
4:30pm Prize ceremony
6:00pm After party (venue TBD)