Pool Nationals 2018

Pool Nationals 2018 2018-05-05T17:14:24+00:00

The Australian Freediving Association and the Sydney Freedivers will host the Pool National Championships in Sydney from Fri, 11 May to Sun, 13 May, 2018 at the Knox Grammar School Aquatic Centre. This competition is conducted under the AIDA International rules and open to all AFA members regardless of their nationality. It is not a world record status competition.

Date: Friday, 11 May to Sunday, 13 May (3 days)
Day 1 – Static Apnea (in a 50m x 2m pool with platforms provided, water temp: 27C)
Day 2 – Dynamic No Fins (in a 25m x 2m pool, water temp: 27C)
Day 3 – Dynamic With Fins (in a 50m x 2m pool, water temp: 27C)

Venue: Knox Grammar School Aquatic Centre
The Knox Grammar School Aquatic Centre has a FINA standard 50m indoor pool.  Depth of the pool is 2m and the water temperature is 27C.

Eligibility: All current financial members of AFA who are 18 years of age or older (or 16 years or older with written parental consent)

You must be a member of AFA to be able to compete in this competition. Please note that you must be a full financial member of AFA if you are an Australian citizen (regardless of place of residence) or a current resident in Australia (regardless of nationality). If you are not an Australian citizen and do not live in Australia (e.g. visiting Australia for this competition), please contact the organiser (info@australianfreediving.org) to obtain a temporary Competition Membership.


Registration fee: There is an early-bird discount available – get in quick!

On or before Sunday, 25 March: A$100
Monday, 26 March – Sunday, 15 April: A$120
Monday, 16 April – Sunday, 29 April: A$180

Registration fee includes participation in the competition (3 days), registration of results with the AIDA ranking database, and a competition merchandise item (TBD). Accommodation, transport, and food and drinks at the after party are not included in the registration fee.

Cancellation policy: If you decide to withdraw your registration, we will refund your registration fee according to the guidelines below.
50% – Cancellation on or before Sunday, 25 March
25% – Cancellation between Monday, 26 March and Tuesday, 8 May
No refund – Cancellation after Wednesday, 9 May (If you decide not to compete on the day of the competition, there will be no refund. )


The competition will be limited to 40 athletes.

Registration is now closed as we have reached 40 athletes.

Please contact us if you would like to be put on the athlete wait list.

Athlete in-list


Number Name Sex Nationality Club
1 Craig de Vos M AUS South Australian Freedivers
2 Natasha Darke F AUS South Australian Freedivers
3 Liam Gough M AUS Sydney Freedivers
4 Frederic Maire M AUS Brisbane Freedivers
5 Daron Joseph M AUS Sydney Freedivers
6 Scott Walker M NZL Melbourne Freedivers
7 Jarrod Briffa M AUS Melbourne Freedivers
8 Wanqi Liu F CHN Sydney Freedivers
9 Lisa Borg F AUS South Australian Freedivers
10 Jason Prior M AUS Sydney Freedivers
11 Alastair Cooke M AUS Unaffiliated
12 Kirsty Wilson F AUS Unaffiliated
13 Rauno Lehtsalu M EST Unaffiliated
14 Donovan de Wet M AUS Melbourne Freedivers
15 Mark Schafer M AUS Unaffiliated
16 Gavin Phillips M AUS Goldy Freediving
17 Anh Tu F AUS South Australian Freedivers
18 Amber Bourke F AUS Brisbane Freedivers
19 Alexey Vlaskin M AUS Sydney Freedivers
20 David Murray M AUS Sydney Freedivers
21 Damian Hector M AUS Melbourne Freedivers
22 Stuart Brogden M AUS Unaffiliated
23 David Mulheron M AUS Unaffiliated
24 Arthur Kudla M AUS Unaffiliated
25 Bo Liu M CHN Sydney Freedivers
26 Dayna Fisher F AUS South Australian Freedivers
27 John Wright M NZL Unaffiliated
28 Kathryn Nevatt F NZL Unaffiliated
29 Ant Judge M AUS Sydney Freedivers
30 Steve Whyte M AUS Brisbane Freedivers
31 Mitch Foord M AUS Sydney Freedivers
32 Walter Steyn M AUS Unaffiliated
33 Luis Ramirez M VEN Brisbane Freedivers
34 Elisabeth Mattes F AUT Unaffiliated
35 Patrice Minton F AUS Unaffiliated
36 Davin Smith M AUS Unaffiliated
37 Brielle Revello F AUS Unaffiliated
38 Daniel Hurst M AUS Melbourne Freedivers


AIDA Medical Form (new version) can be downloaded from AIDA International’s website.

Medical form: All athletes must present a medical certificate of “non contraindication to freediving” at the on-site registration on Day 1. Medical certificate must be signed by a medical doctor and must not be more than one year old. If you are using the AIDA Medical Form, it must be signed by a doctor and must have the doctor’s stamp.

Old version of the AIDA Medical form is also accepted and can be downloaded from here.


Time Schedule:


Day 1 (Fri, 11 May)


 Registration open


 Athletes briefing


 First OT – Static Apnea


 Last OT – Static Apnea


 Announcements for Day 2 close


Day 2 (Sat, 12 May)


 First OT – Dynamic No Fins


 Last OT – Dynamic No Fins


 Announcements for Day 3 close


Day 3 (Sun, 13 May)


 First OT – Dynamic With Fins


 Last OT – Dynamic With Fins


 After party and prize ceremony @venue TBC