Pool Nationals 2019

Pool Nationals 20192019-02-15T19:12:59+10:00

The Australian Freediving Association and the Goldy Freediving Club will host the AFA Pool National Championships on the Gold Coast from Fri, 29 March to Sun, 31 March, 2019 at the Gold Coast Aquatic Centre. This competition is conducted under the AIDA International rules and open to all AFA members regardless of their nationality. It is not a world record status competition.

Date: Friday, 29 March to Sunday, 31 March (3 days)
Day 1 – Static Apnea (25m x 1.2m pool, water temp: 27C)
Day 2 – Dynamic No Fins (25m x 2m pool, water temp: 27C)
Day 3 – Dynamic With Fins (including DYN BiFins) (50m x 2m pool, water temp: 27C)

Venue: Gold Coast Aquatic Centre
Gold Coast Aquatic Centre (GCAC) is a state of the art facility that hosted the swimming and diving events during the Gold Coast 2018 Commonwealth Games.

Eligibility: All current financial members of AFA who are 18 years of age or older (or 16 years or older with written parental consent)

You must be a member of AFA to be able to compete in this competition. Please note that you must be a full financial member of the AFA if you are an Australian citizen (regardless of place of residence) or a current resident in Australia (regardless of nationality). If you are not an Australian citizen and do not live in Australia (e.g. visiting Australia for this competition), you can obtain a temporary Competition Membership on checkout.


Registration fee: There is an early-bird discount available – get in quick!

On or before Sunday, 3 March: A$130
Monday, 4 March – Sunday, 17 March: A$150
Monday, 18 March – Friday, 29 March: A$180

Registration fee includes participation in the competition (3 days), registration of results with the AIDA ranking database, and a competition merchandise item (TBD). Accommodation, transport, and food and drinks at the after party are not included in the registration fee.

Cancellation policy: If you decide to withdraw your registration, we will refund your registration fee according to the guidelines below.
50% – Cancellation on or before Sunday, 3 March
25% – Cancellation between Monday, 4 March and Sunday, 24 March
No refund – Cancellation after Monday, 25 March (If you decide not to compete on the day of the competition, there will be no refund. )


Registration is now open to all athletes.

Click here to register


Athlete in-list


Number Name Sex Nationality Club
1 Craig de Vos M AUS South Australian Freedivers
2 David Murray M AUS Unaffiliated
3 Benjamin Fleming M AUS Brisbane Freedivers
4 Scott Walker M NZL Melbourne Freedivers
5 Jason Prior M AUS Unaffiliated
6 Chris Ellem M AUS Goldy Freediving Club
7 David Mulheron M AUS Unaffiliated
8 Catherine Christie F AUS South Australian Freedivers
9 Tim Magoffin M AUS Brisbane Freedivers
10 Amber Bourke F AUS Brisbane Freedivers
11 Leigh Woolley M AUS Brisbane Freedivers
12 Frederic Maire M AUS Brisbane Freedivers
13 Jarrod Briffa M AUS Melbourne Freedivers
14 Donovan de Wet M AUS Melbourne Freedivers
15 Rauno Lehtsalu M EST Unaffiliated
16 Lucja Nowowiejski F POL Unaffiliated
17 Chris Rose M AUS Brisbane Freedivers
18 Ben Collins M AUS Unaffiliated
19 Anh Tu F AUS South Australian Freedivers
20 Alan Maddick M AUS Unaffiliated
21 Damian Hector M AUS Melbourne Freedivers
22 Mark Schafer M AUS Unaffiliated
23 Jack Hatfield M AUS Unaffiliated
24 Luis Ramirez M VEN Brisbane Freedivers
25 Lauren Cameo F AUS Unaffiliated
26 Emily Shaw F AUS Brisbane Freedivers
27 William Scott M AUS Brisbane Freedivers
28 Michael Bates M AUS Brisbane Freedivers
29 Benjamin Eckert M AUS Unaffiliated
30 Matthew Chew M AUS Brisbane Freedivers
31 Julien Fourment M FRA Unaffiliated
32 Michael Heitzmann M CHE Brisbane Freedivers
33 Steve Whyte M AUS Brisbane Freedivers
34 Daron Joseph M AUS Unaffiliated
35 Alastair Cooke M AUS Unaffiliated
36 Lewis Jones M NZL Goldy Freediving Club
37 Liam Gough M AUS Unaffiliated
38 John Wright M NZL Unaffiliated
39 Elisabeth Mattes F AUT Goldy Freediving Club
40 Walter Steyn M AUS Unaffiliated
41 Stephan Kohn M FRA Unaffiliated
42 Pierre Crubillé M FRA Unaffiliated
43 Lénaïc Potrel F FRA Unaffiliated
44 Sayaka Itagaki F JPN Unaffiliated
45 Daniel Hurst M AUS Melbourne Freedivers
46 Toby Rull M AUS Unaffiliated
47 Robert Berto M AUS Goldy Freediving Club
48 Benoit Dupe M FRA Unaffiliated
49 Nicole Keating F AUS Brisbane Freedivers
50 Michael Cheesman M AUS Unaffiliated
51 Maurizio Rossi M ITA Brisbane Freedivers
52 Ant Judge M AUS Unaffiliated
53 Sigourney Brogden F THA Unaffiliated
54 Stuart Brogden M AUS Unaffiliated


AIDA Medical Form (new version) can be downloaded from AIDA International’s website.

Medical form: All athletes must present a medical certificate of “non contraindication to freediving” at the on-site registration on Day 1. Medical certificate must be signed by a medical doctor and must not be more than one year old. If you are using the AIDA Medical Form, it must be signed by a doctor and must have the doctor’s stamp.

Old version of the AIDA Medical form is also accepted and can be downloaded from here.


Preliminary Time Schedule:

Day 1 (Fri, 29 March)
11:00am Registration open
12:30pm Athletes briefing
2:30pm First OT – Static Apnea
6:30pm Last OT – Static Apnea
9:00pm Announcements for Day 2 close
Day 2 (Sat, 30 March)
10:00am First OT – Dynamic No Fin
4:00pm Last OT – Dynamic No Fin
7:00pm Announcements for Day 3 close
Day 3 (Sun, 31 March)
9:00am First OT – Dynamic With Fin
3:00pm Last OT – Dynamic With Fin
4:00pm Prize ceremony
5:30pm After party (venue TBD)