Please note: due to COVID-19 the 2020 Pool National Championships have been postponed.
Dates later in 2020 are presently being confirmed.

The Australian Freediving Association and the Brisbane Bullsharks Freediving Club will host the AFA Pool National Championships in Brisbane, pending COVID-19 resolution, at the Sleeman Sports Complex. This competition is conducted under the AIDA International rules and open to all AFA members regardless of their nationality. It is not a world record status competition.

As announced at the AGM last year, the AFA will not follow the AIDA points system for this competition as we feel it is outdated, for example we want to make it fair to those choosing DYNB rather than DYN. We will email athletes with details of the points system in the coming weeks. You will get the normal points recorded into the AIDA ranking system.

Date: TBC – postponed due to COVID-19
Day 1 – Static Apnea (50m x 2m pool, water temp: 27C)
Day 2 – Dynamic No Fins (25m x 2m pool, water temp: 27C)
Day 3 – Dynamic With Fins (including DYN BiFins) (50m x 2m pool, water temp: 27C)

Venue: Sleeman Sports Complex

Eligibility: All current financial members of AFA who are 18 years of age or older.

You must be a member of AFA to be able to compete in this competition. Please note that you must be a full financial member of the AFA if you are an Australian citizen (regardless of place of residence) or a current resident in Australia (regardless of nationality). If you are not an Australian citizen and do not live in Australia (e.g. visiting Australia for this competition), you can obtain a temporary Competition Membership on checkout.

Registration fee:

Date ranges for fees will be provided once the event date is confirmed.
Early bird: A$145
Normal: A$160
Late: A$190

Registration fee includes participation in the competition (3 days), registration of results with the AIDA ranking database, and a competition merchandise item (TBD). Accommodation, transport, and food and drinks at the after party are not included in the registration fee.

Cancellation policy:

COVID-19: If you are unable to attend the rescheduled event, or the event needs to be cancelled, refunds will be issued in full.

If you decide to withdraw your registration, we will refund your registration fee according to the guidelines below.
50% – Cancellation on or before (TBC)
25% – Cancellation between (TBC)
No refund – Cancellation after (TBC)
If you decide not to compete on the day of the competition, there will be no refund.


We have a hold on registration for the present time due to COVID-19.

Athlete in-list


Number Name Sex Nationality Club
1 Jason Prior M AUS Unaffiliated
2 Scott Walker M NZL Melbourne Freedivers
3 Christian Camilo Zuluaga Bedoya M COL Brisbane Bullsharks Freediving Culb
4 Frederic Maire M AUS Brisbane Freedivers & Brisbane Bullsharks Freediving Club
5 David Mulheron M AUS Unaffiliated
6 Jarrod Briffa M AUS Melbourne Freedivers
7 Peter Guida M AUS Melbourne Freedivers
8 Pierre Crubillé M FRA Unaffiliated
9 Damian Hector M AUS Melbourne Freedivers
10 Donovan de Wet M AUS Melbourne Freedivers
11 David Murray M AUS Unaffiliated
12 Julien Fourment M FRA Unaffiliated
13 Ryan Beecroft M AUS Brisbane Freedivers & Brisbane Bullsharks Freediving Club
14 Stephan Kohn M FRA Unaffiliated
15 Ben Eckert M AUS Brisbane Freedivers & Brisbane Bullsharks Freediving Club
16 William Scott M AUS Brisbane Freedivers & Brisbane Bullsharks Freediving Club
17 Liam Allen M CAN Brisbane Bullsharks Freediving Culb
18 Benoit Dupe M FRA Unaffiliated
19 Ben Collins M AUS Unaffiliated
20 Nathan Watts M AUS Unaffiliated
21 Emily Shaw F AUS Brisbane Freedivers
22 Gavin Phillips M AUS Goldy Freediving Club
23 Michael Bates M AUS Brisbane Freedivers
24 Laura King F AUS Brisbane Freedivers & Brisbane Bullsharks Freediving Club
25 Sandra Wiedbrauk F DEU Brisbane Freedivers & Brisbane Bullsharks Freediving Club
26 Chris Ellem M AUS Brisbane Bullsharks Freediving Culb
27 Oriane Prost F FRA Unaffiliated
28 Ant Judge M AUS Unaffiliated
29 Maurizio Rossi M ITA Brisbane Freedivers & Brisbane Bullsharks Freediving Club


AIDA Medical Form (new version) can be downloaded from AIDA International’s website.

Medical form: All athletes must present a medical certificate of “non contraindication to freediving” at the on-site registration on Day 1. Medical certificate must be signed by a medical doctor and must not be more than one year old. If you are using the AIDA Medical Form, it must be signed by a doctor and must have the doctor’s stamp.

Preliminary Time Schedule:

Day 1 (Sat, 2 May)
9:00am Registration open
10:00am Athletes briefing
12:00pm First OT – Static Apnea
5:00pm Last OT – Static Apnea
7:00pm Announcements for Day 2 close
Day 2 (Sun, 3 May)
10:00am First OT – Dynamic No Fin
4:00pm Last OT – Dynamic No Fin
7:00pm Announcements for Day 3 close
Day 3 (Mon, 4 May)
9:00am First OT – Dynamic With Fin
3:00pm Last OT – Dynamic With Fin
4:30pm Prize ceremony
6:00pm After party (venue TBD)